lcad_joboard

FINE ART CAREER RESOURCES

ART RELATED CAREERS
College graduates use their education in a wide variety of fields, and your future career may relate more to your personal career interests, work values and transferable skills than any specific academic major. However, the following list contains a representative sample of job titles of former graduates with an Art major. Use this as an idea list, and remember that it represents some, but certainly not all, of the careers you might consider. Students obtaining employment immediately upon graduation are usually those with the best college records and a willingness to relocate to find a job. Some of these jobs also require education beyond a bachelors’ degree:

Advertising Artist                                   Bookplate Artist                                  Fashion Artist/Designer
Motion Picture                                        Artist Advertising Designer             CAD Designer
Filmmaker                                                Illustrator                                               Commission Artist
Calligrapher                                             Floral Designer                                     Portrait Painter
Airbrush Artist                                        Greeting Card Artist                            Freelance Letter/Designer
Mural Artist                                               Instructor                                               Caricaturist
Furniture Designer                                Museum Artist                                      Antiques Dealer
Cartoonist                                                Gallery Owner                                      Editorial Artist
Model Builder                                         Catalog Illustrator                              Tattoo Artist
Newspaper Illustrator                         Architectural Renderer                     CD/Record Cover Designer
Glass Blower                                           Newspaper Layout Artist                 Art Administrator
Ceramic Artist                                         Photographer                                       Curator
Art Buyer                                                  Cinematographer                                Scene Painter
Photojournalist                                     Art Conservator                                    Color Exper
Graphic Print Designer                       Art Dealer                                                Art Consultant
Copyist                                                      Artist Representative                         Printing Layout Artist
Product Designer                                  Portrait Commissions                       Courtroom Sketcher
Auction Staff                                           Quick Sketch Artist                             Art Director
Art Therapist                                           Interior Designer                                 Sculptor
Art Exhibition Coordinator                Faux Finisher                                        Fabric Designer

 


JOB, INTERNSHIP AND ART RELATED SITES

About Careers-Artists-Residencies thebalance.com
After College aftercollege.com
American Ad Agenciesamericanadagencies.com
A secret consortium of industry Art Directors data.danetsoft.com/dearartdirector.tumblr.com
Artists and Related Workers khake.com
Artist and Personal Finance ragstoreasonable.com
American Society of Media Photographers asmp.org
American Institute of Graphic Art aiga.org
American Art Therapy Association  arttherapy.org
Association of Medical Illustrators    ami.org
Artbiz System: Strategies for a successful art artbizsystem.com
Artist Communities, Residents, Jobs, Events and more artistcommunities.org/jobs
Artists grants and residencies resartis.org
Art Marketing: faso.com/art-marketing
Artist Resources & Job Listings  artistresource.org
Arts Employment wwar.com
Art Biz Coach artbizcoach.com
The Art Association artassociation.org
Art on the Net art.net
ArtSource  visualartsource.com                   
Art Jobs artcareercafe.com
Barefoot Student.com https://www.wikijob.co.uk/wiki/tell-me-about-yourself
Browse for jobs themuse.com/jobs/c-themuse-jobs
Blouin Art blouinartinfo.com
Connect with companies barefootStudent.com                                                                                          
California Jobs cac.ca.gov/jobs
CallforEntry (employment): callforentry.org
Camp Jobs campjobs.com
Careers in Arts academicinvest.com
Center for Cultural Innovation, LA resource cciarts.org
Chronicle of Higher Education (employment): chronicle.com
College Art collegeart.org
College Recruiter Collegerecruiter.com
Craigs List craigslist.com
Creative Hot List creativehotlist.com
College Student Jobs Barefootstudent.com
College Grad Career Templates collegegrad.com
College Art Association collegeart.org
Competitions  onlinejuriedshows.com
Competitions, grants and juried shows artshow.com
Creative Capital, funding for art projects www.creative-capital.org
Creative Competitions Marketplace    artistsnetwork.com
Creative Hot List creativehotlist.com
Entertainment Careers fineart.about.com
Fine Art Portfolio Site faso.com
Freelance work upwork.com
Free Portfolio: sell and Display work lightspacetime.com
Fullbright, Scholarships, Residences exchanges  cies.org/program/fulbright-scholar-residence-program
Glassdoor glassdoor.com/index.htm
Global Art Jobs  globalartjobs.com
Indeed indeed.com (search using the word internship)
International Art Community artbasel.com
Internship and entry-level jobs   You Tern, The Savvy Intern youtern.com/thesavvyintern/
Intern housing in NYC    studenthousing.org/and/university
Jobs, Residencies, Comps, Scholarships calarts.edu
Job search site Barefootstudent.com
L.A. Art Show laartshow.com
Lindsay Pollack Blog Workplace expert & advice lindseypollak.com
LinkedIn linkedin.com/ (search using the word internship)
Make Your Mark, Graphic Communications gaerf.org
Magazines editorialphoto.com
MESC, Museum Educators of Southern California, dedicated to strengthening the field and practice of museum education through on-going dialogue and professional development.  mesconline.org
Monday News (opportunities): mondaynews.net
Museum Employment Resource Center museum-employment.com
Neuvoo neuvoo.com
New Grad Interview Tips & More newgradlife.blogspot.com
National Association of Schools of Art and Design   nasad.arts-accredit.org
National Art Education Association  arteducators.org 
New Museum Art Spaces (directory): newmuseumstore.org
New York Foundation for the Arts nyfa.org                                               
Orange County Art Jobs artsoc.org
Pennsylvania Artist Entrepreneur   paartistentrepreneur.com
Residency Programs for Visual Art and Design artistcommunities.org/residencies
Resume Samples  monster.com/career-advice/cover-letter-resume/resume-samples
Re-title (opportunities)re-title.typepad.com
Rhizome (opportunities)rhizome.org
Scholarship List salliemae.com/plan-for-college/scholarships/scholarship-search
Small Business Assistance  score.org
StoryCode  storycode.org
Society of Illustrators  societyillustrators.org
Squarspace Portfolio Site  squarespace.com/students
Studio Art collegeart.org/careers
Summer Camp Jobs summercamps.com
The Balance thebalance.com/top-internship-sites-1986878
The Muse themuse.com/ (Career advice and job board)
Transartist (opportunities): transartists.org
Walk through on grant writing  youtube.com/user/ArtistServices
Wiki Jobs wikijob.co.uk
Women In Photography womeninphotography.org
Undercover Recruiter twitter.com/UndercoverRec
Worship the Brand worshipthebrand.com
Wooloo (opportunities): wooloo.org/open-call

RESIDENCIES:
China Residencies (residencies): chinaresidencies.com
US National Park Service (residencies): nps.gov/subjects/arts/air.htm
ACOSS: acoss.org
McColl: mccollcenter.org
Nirox Foundation: niroxarts.com
Residency Unlimited: residencyunlimited.org
Hrisey AIR, Iceland: nordanbal.is
ABC No Rio: abcnorio.org
Brooklyn Art Museum: brooklynmuseum.wufoo.com
Crane Arts: cranearts.com
Creative Time: creativetime.org
Intersection Arts: theintersection.org
Issue Project Room: issueprojectroom.org
Participant:  participantinc.org/contact/
Public Art Dialog: tandfonline.com
Printed Matter: printedmatter.org
Rutgers Paul Robeson Galleries: artgallery.newark.rutgers.edu
Send and Receive: sendandreceive.org
Southern Exposure: soex.org
The Kitchen: thekitchen.org
Artist Communities: artistcommunities.org/residencies/
Blouin Art Info: blouinartinfo.com/news/story/763138/a-guide-to-20-top-artist-residencies-and-retreats-across-the#
The Power Plant: thepowerplant.org
Walker Art Center: walkerart.org

REGISTRIES (US):
Artists Space: keystoneartspace.com
Drawing Center:  drawingcenter.org
NYC Percent for Art (public art registry) http://www.nyc.gov/html/dcla/html/panyc/percent-for-art.shtml
White Columns (registry and curatorial proposals):registry.whitecolumns.org
Twyla (sales platform): twyla.com
Listings Project (studio listings): listingsproject.com

AFFILIATIONS:
American Color Print Society americancolorprintsociety.org
American Impressionist Society 
https://americanimpressionistsociety.org/
American Watercolor Society americanwatercolorsociety.org
Art Renewal Center artrenewal.org
California Art Club  californiaartclub.org
CAA (College Art Association) collegeart.org
Colored Pencil Society of America cpsa.org
Dana Point Fine Arts Association 
http://danapointfinearts.org
Career Community https://fairygodboss.com/
Laguna Plein Air Painters Association 
http://www.lpapa.org
National Association of Women Artists thenawa.org
National Endowment for the Arts arts.gov
National Sculpture Society nationalsculpture.org
National Society of Artists NSA nsartists.org
National Watercolor Society nationalwatercolorsociety.org
NYC Arts nye-art.org
Oil Painters of America oilpaintersofamerica.com
Pastel Society of America pastelsocietyofamerica.org
Plein-Air Painters of America p-a-p-a.com
Portrait Society 
http://www.portraitsociety.org/competitions
Salmagundi Club salmagundi.org
San Diego Watercolor Society: http://www.sdws.org
Southern California Artists Association southerncaliforniaartists.org
The National Association of Independent Artists (NAIA) naiaartists.org
The National Oil and Acrylic Painters’ Society noaps.org
Women Artists of the West waow.org

BUSINESS QUESTIONS?
Art Marketing streamlineartvideo.com
Finance artmoneyguide.com
Financial and tax information for creatives  minervafinancialarts.com
Resume Advice college.monster.com
From Copyright to Coloring Comics! community.wacom.com
Staffing agency creativecircle.com
Browse for jobs and resume advice thebalance.com
Career advise newgradlife.blogspot.com
Career advise and job board wikijob.co.uk/wiki/tell-me-about-yourself

SELL YOUR ARTWORK ONLINE
20×200   20×200.com
ArtFire   artfire.com
Café Press  cafepress.com
deviantART   deviantart.com
Etsy   etsy.com
Greeting Card Universe  greetingcarduniverse.com
Imagekind  imagekind.com
OrangePiel  orangepiel.com
RedBubble  redbubble.com
Society 6  society6.com
Spreadshirt  spreadshirt.net
Supermarket  supermarkethq.com
Threadless  threadless.com
Zatista   zatista.com
Zazzle  zazzle.com

ARTICLES RE: ‘GREEN PRACTICES FOR ARTISTS
12 Ways Artists Can Go Greener
artbusinessnews.com
Dickblick Ecoproducts

YEARLY COMPETITIONS
The Artist’s Magazine Annual Art Competition  artistsnetwork.com
Del Mar Art Show delmar.edu
Elizabeth Greensheilds Foundation  elizabethgreenshieldsfoundation.org
International ARC Salon Competition artrenewal.org
National Sculpture Society nationalsculpture.org

ARTISTS COMMUNITIES
artistcommunities.org/residencies
blouinartinfo.com/news/story/763138/a-guide-to-20-top-artist-residencies-and-retreats-across-the#
professionalartistmag.com
thewhole9.com

ART BUSINESS BOOKS
The Artists Wayby Julia Cameron
Art Terms and Techniques, The Harper Collins Dictionary (2nd Edition)  by Ralph Mayer
Art Marketing 101  by Constance Smith
Fine Art Publicity, The Complete Guide for Galleries and Artists  by Susan Abbott
Getting Your Sh*t Together (GYST) by Karen Atkinson
How to Profit from the Art Print Market   by Barney Davey
Taking the Leap:  Building a Career as a Visual Artist by Cay Lang

TIPS AND MISC
Must have on invites: who, what , where, when. Keep it clean and easy to read.
Put your website on all promo materials and make sure font is big enough to read easily.
GYST (Get Your Sh*T TOgether) offers the best artist software and books, as well as workshops for artists on resumes, bios… DISCOUNT CODES for LCAD Artists:
Book  CPNLCADBK  gyst-ink.com
Software  CPNLCADGP gyst-ink.com
Send Images to the Editor of Magazines that have original art on the cover
Business Cards, Post cards etc.:  Got Print-  gotprint.com –  vistaprint.com
Readymade frames:   kingofframe.com
A N R Transport  anrtransport.com
Online scholarship database for Financial Aid, Loan Tips. Students and grads!  fastweb.com
Many occupations today require a college educated individual who can write and speak well, solve problems, learn new information quickly and work well with others on a team
Use Linked-In.
Remember whatever is put on facebook- can be seen by everyone including employers and clients.
Explore Artists Residencies!