lcad_joboard

VisCom CAREER RESOURCES

VisCom RELATED CAREERS

College graduates use their education in a wide variety of fields. Your future career may relate more to your personal career interests, work values and transferable skills than any specific academic major.

The following list contains a variety of job titles of former graduates with an Art major. Use this as an idea list, and remember that it represents some, but certainly not all, of the careers you might consider:

Advertising Artist                      Bookplate Artist                                      Fashion Artist/Designer
Motion Picture                           Artist Advertising Designer                 CAD Designer
Filmmaker                                   Graphic Novel                                           Character Designer
Airbrush Artist                            Card/Bus Card Artist                             Freelance Letter/Designer
Mural Artist                                  Animator                                                    Caricaturist
Medical Illustrator                    Layout                                                         Modeler
Cartoonist                                    Matte Painter                                           Newspaper Artist
Model Builder                             Catalog Illustrator                                  Editorial Illustrator
Newspaper Illustrator             Architectural Renderer                        CD/Record Cover Designer
Visual Effects Artist                   Newspaper Layout Artist                    Art Administrator
Prop Designer                             Graphic Arts                                             Technician Photographer
Art Buyer                                       Cinematographer                                  Graphic Designer
Photojournalist                          Art Conservator                                      Color Expert
Graphic Print Designer            Game Tester                                             Consultant
Copyist                                           Greeting Card Artist                              Printing Layout Artist
Courtroom Sketcher                Makeup Artist                                          Product Designer
Set Designer                                Quick Sketch Artist                                Art Director
Corporate Design                      Web Designer                                          Sculptor
Textile Designer                         Internet Designer                                   Producer
Storyboard Artist                      Concept Artist                                         Tattoo Artist
CG Artist                                        Instructor                                                  Sustainable Design

JOB, INTERNSHIP AND  OTHER INDUSTRY RELATED SITES

Ability Magazine ABILITYmagazine.com :  job board and resumé bank for individuals with disabilities
Action Sports Industry Malakye.com
After College aftercollege.com
All Graphic Designs allgraphicdesign.com
A List Apart ; design, development, and meaning of web content, with a special focus on web standards and best practices archaia.com
American Ad Agencies americanadagencies.com
American Institute of Graphic Art aiga.org
Animation Networking  gimmeart.wixsite.com/animationarmy
Art Directors Club  adcawards.org
ArtSource  ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html
Art Job artsforla.org
Art Career Info collegegrad.com/careers/arts-and-design
Arts USA Job Bank  jobbank.artsusa.org
Artist Community, blogspot   thewhole9.com
Artist Resources & Job Listings  artistresource.org
Arts Employment wwar.com
Art on the Net art.net
Artists and Related Workers khake.com
Association of Medical Illustrators   ami.org
American Society of Media Photographers asmp.org
Business Software and Workshops-Gyst-ink.com– LCAD discount code:  CPNLCAD0904
Business Etiquette emilypost.com/advice/download-10-tips-on-business-etiquette/
Broadcast Design Association promaxbda.org
Creative Hot List creativehotlist.com
California cac.ca.gov
Camp Jobs campjobs.com
Children’s Book illustrators  childrensillustrators.com
Craigs List craigslist.com
College Grad Career Templates collegegrad.com
College Job Bank collegejobbank.com
College Student Jobs Barefootstudent.com
College Art Association collegeart.org
Creative Heads creativeheads.net
Creative Crash – Highend 3D  creativecrash.com
Creative Competitions Marketplace graphicartistguild.org
Career and Lifestyle Advice for Women  nicolewilliams.com
college.monster.com/benefits-entry-level-resume/articles
Designers, Illustrators  theinternationalillustrated.com
D and Ad dandad.org/talent/new-blood
Fashion Tech fashiontech.wordpress.com
Fellowships chroniclebooks.com/designfellowship/
Global Art Jobs globalartjobs.com
Game Careers GameCareerGuide.com
Game Development Jobs orcahq.com
Game Jobs GameJobs.com
Game Jobs Gamasutra.com
Game Jobs treyarch.com/jobs
Game Jobs gameguzzler.com
Game Jobs gamesindustry.biz/jobs
Game Storming gamestorming.com
Glass door glassdoor.com/index.htm
Graphic Design  allgraphicdesign.com/graphicsblog
Greenlight Jobs greenlightjobs.com
Ideal Jobs idealist.org
Indeed indeed.com Freelance Jobs   angel.co
IE3 Global Internships  ie3global.org
Image Think imagethink.net/resources/
Indeed indeed.com/ (search using the word internship)
Industrial Designers Society of America  idsa.org
Internship and entry-level jobs YouTern.com
Juxtapoz Magazine  juxtapoz.com
LA Workbook, Illustration, Photo  workbook.com
Linkedin Jobs linkedin.com (search using the words internship)
Make Your Mark, Graphic Communications gaerf.org
New York Foundation for the Arts    Nyfa.org
Magazine Work editorialphoto.com
New Grad Life Tips newgradlife.blogspot.com
New Grad Interview Tips & More newgradlife.blogspot.com
National Art Education Association  arteducators.org
Neuvoo neuvoo.com
Orange County Arts artsoc.org
Online scholarship database for Financial Aid, Loan Tips – fastweb.com
Penguin Random House careers.penguinrandomhouse.com/#job04
Books Design rillart.com
Scholarship List  salliemae.com
Summer Camp Jobs summercamps.com
Set Decorator setdecorators.org
Small Business Assistance  score.org
Storyboard Art StoryboardArt.org
StoryCode  storycode.org
Shows, internships, jobs for all media artscuttlebutt.com
Society of Illustrators societyillustrators.org
SQUARESPACE Portfolio Site squarespace.com
The Balance thebalance.com/top-internship-sites-1986878
The Muse themuse.com
Undercover Recruiter twitter.com/UndercoverRec
US Dept of Labor  bls.gov
VFX Pro Boards  forums.creativeplanetnetwork.com/forum/-2-pop-archives-read-only/full-archive
Wiki Job wikijob.co.uk
Women In Animation WIA womeninanimation.org
World Wide Film Festivals  withoutabox.com
Worship the Brand worshipthebrand.com
You Tern, The Savvy Intern youtern.com/thesavvyintern/
Competitions onlinejuriedshows.com
Job search site Barefootstudent.com
Job search site myjobhelper.com
Job site, career info, salaries sokanu.com
Free Portfolio: sell or Display work vitamintalent.com/blog/top-free-portfolio-sites

FULLBRIGHT SCHOLARSHIPS, RESIDENCIES,
exchanges.state.gov

INDUSTRY CONVENTIONS:
CAA College Art Association  (teachers)   collegeart.org
COMICON  Comic Convention   comic-con.org
GDC Game Designers Conference   gdconf.com
INDIECADIE International Festival of Independent Games indiecade.com
SIGGRAPH  Digital Entertainment   siggraph.org

WONDERCON Comics and Pop Culture Convention comic-con.org

BUSINESS QUESTIONS?
irs.gov
newgradlife.blogspot.com
law-arts.org 

FREELANCE & BUSINESS BLOGS:

A list apart. design, development, and meaning of web content, with a special focus on web standards and best practices.  alistapart.com/

Artsy Shark  artsyshark.com
Business of Design Online  howdesignuniversity.com
Creative Freelancer Blog creativefreelancerblog.com
Copyright Alliance   copyrightalliance.org
 From Copyright to Coloring Comics!   community.wacom.com
Creative Circle  creativecircle.com
Pintrest    pinterest.com/wacom/90-tips-in-90-days/
The Purple Canyon underdown.org
Red Lemon Club  redlemonclub.com
SCORE   score.org
Local Art Projects thumbtack.com
Residency Programs for Visual Art and Design artistcommunities.org/residencies

PLACES TO SELL YOUR WORK ONLINE:

20×200   20×200.com
1000 Markets   1000markets.com
Art Two50 arttwo50.com/sell-art
ArtFire   artfire.com
Café Press cafepress.com
deviantART  deviantart.com
Etsy   etsy.com
Greeting Card Universe  greetingcarduniverse.com
Imagekind   imagekind.com
InPrnt!   inprnt.com
OrangePiel  orangepiel.com
RedBubble   redbubble.com
Society 6    society6.com
Spreadshirt    spreadshirt.net
Threadless   threadless.com
Zatista   zatista.com
Zazzle   zazzle.com


FREE ONLINE PORTFOLIO SITES:
ArtistPortfolio   artistportfolio.net
Behance Network   behance.net
Coroflot     coroflot.com
deviantART    deviantart.com
FigDig     figdig.com
Flickr    flickr.com
Gag gag.org
The I spot  theispot.com
Illustrator’s Partnership illustratorspartnership.org
Krop    krop.com
Portfolios portfolios.com
Virb  virb.com
Work Book workbook.com

AFFILIATIONS:
Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences interactive.org
Animation World Network awn.com
AIGA American Institute of Graphic Arts aiga.org
ASIFA-Hollywood!   asifa-hollywood.org
CG Society cgsociety.org
Computer Graphics Society cgsociety.org
Career Community 
https://fairygodboss.com/
Freelancers Union freelancersunion.org
Game Art Developers   gdmag.com
Graphic Artist Guild graphicartistsguild.org
Guild of Natural Science Illustrators GNSI gnsi.org
lcograda ico-d.org
Illustrators’ Partnership illustratorspartnership.org
National Association of Women Artists thenawa.org
NASAGA North American Simulation and Gaming Assoc. nasaga.org
RGD Association of Registered Graphic Designers rgd.ca
Society for Animation Studies animationstudies.org/v3/
Society of Illustrators societyillustrators.org
Society of Children’s Book scbwi.org
Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators illustratorspartnership.org
SND Society for News Design snd.org
The Animation Guild animationguild.org
The Association of Illustrators (AOI) theaoi.com
The Graphic Artists Guild graphicartistsguild.org
The Illustrators’ Partnership of America (IPA) illustratorspartnership.org
Women In Animation WIA womeninanimation.org
Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI)   cartoonistfoundation.org

*Volunteer opportunities are available in the following areas:
Annie Awards, Comic Con, Publicity, Animation Archive, Events & Screenings and the Animation Rescue Team. Please let us know if you are interested in volunteering by sending an email to… volunteer@asifa-hollywood.org